Baron, Everist Earn Top Water Polo Awards

Baron usa men UIC serbia facebook

USC goalkeeper McQuin Baron ended a memorable year with his first Player of the Year award. The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches released their All-America selections for 2016 on Monday. Cal Head Coach Kirk Everest was chosen as Division I Coach of the Year. Baron is also a finalist for the Cutino Award to be announced later this scholastic year.

After being selected to the US Men’s National Team for the Rio Olympics, Baron rejoined the Trojans for the fall season and made 247 saves improving his collegiate career count to 817.

Junior goalie McQuin Baron follows in the footsteps of seven previous Trojans to be named National Player of the Year — Marko Pintaric (1998), Juraj Zatovic (2005), Juan Delgadillo (2006), J.W. Krumpholz (2008 & 2009), Joel Dennerley (2011), Nikola Vavic (2012 & 2013) and Kostas Genidounias (2014).

Baron and his USC teammates fell to Everist’s Bears in the NCAA Championship final. The Trojan goalkeeper is a finalist for the Cutino Award to be presented later in the scholastic year.

Division I Player of the Year: McQuin Baron (University of Southern California)

Division I Coach of the Year: Kirk Everist (University of California)

First Team

McQuin Baron (Goalie), University of Southern California
Blake Edwards, University of Southern California
Luca Cupido, University of California
Odysseas Masmanidis, University of California
Johnny Hooper, University of California
Ryder Roberts, University of California-Los Angeles
Aleksandar Petrovic, University of the Pacific

Second Team

Lazar Andric (Goalie), University of California
Nolan McConnell, Long Beach State University
Marko Asic, Pepperdine University
Blake Parrish, Stanford University
Patrick Fellner, University of California-Los Angeles
Reed Cotterill, University of California-Santa Barbara
Matteo Morelli, University of Southern California

Third Team

Garrett Danner (Goalie), University of California-Los Angeles
Gordon Marshall, University of California-Los Angeles
Grant Stein, University of Southern California
Lachlan Edwards, University of Southern California
Rade Joksimovic, Bucknell University
Joey Colton, Harvard University
Ido Goldschmidt, University of California-Davis

Honorable Mention

Zach Rhodes (Goalie), Pepperdine University
Vojislav Mitrovic (Goalie), Princeton University
Matt Payne, Princeton University
Jordan Colina, Princeton University
Chancellor Ramirez, University of California-Los Angeles
Max Irving, University of California-Los Angeles
Alex Roelse, University of California-Los Angeles
Ikko Siato, University of the Pacific
Devon Thumbwood, University of the Pacific
Ege Colak, University of the Pacific
Jake Wyatt, Brown University
Yahel Murvitz Lahav, Brown University
Bogdan Petkovic, George Washington University
Atakan Destici, George Washington University
Conor Neumann, University of California
Thomas Carroll, University of California
Nick Bell, University of Southern California
Matt Maier, University of Southern California
Noah Harrison, Harvard University
Marc Stauble, Iona College
Jon Black, Loyola Marymount University
Mark Urban, Pepperdine University
Graham McClone, Santa Clara University
Cody Smith, Stanford University
Jack Trush, University of California-Irvine
Shane Hauschild, University of California-Santa Barbara