Stanford Repeats as NCAA Champs After Time-out Error

Updated, 5/10/15 21:50 CDT

Stanford’s Kiley Neushul buried a penalty throw with 11 seconds remaining in their NCAA title match on Sunday, a score that broke a 6-6 tie and handed the Cardinal a repeat championship over the UCLA Bruins.

The penalty was awarded to the Cardinal during a frenzy in front of the UCLA cage as time wound down. Bruins goalkeeper Sami Hill appeared to have possession of the ball after making a save on a Maggie Steffens shot when under pressure Hill tossed it to the safety of open water. The UCLA bench was then sanctioned for calling a time out during the period when neither team had possession, an offense according to water polo rules. The referees assembled to review the play and confirmed the call.

A final off-speed shot by UCLA bounced off the crossbar and the Cardinal began their celebration. Stanford has now won five NCAA Women’s Championships.

The penalty was reminiscent of a similar call by USA Men’s Senior Team Head Coach Adam Krikorian during the 2012 Olympics. Up by one goal with a second on the clock the US coach called a time-out with no team in possession of the ball giving rivals Australia a penalty throw during their semi-final game. The Aussies tied the game after which Team USA dominated the overtime period winning 11-9 on their way to a gold medal.

Video by Vytas Mazeika, Bay Daily News